Slide Guy Meets Carly Rae Jepsen

A few months ago a students started playing “Call Me Maybe” in the library.  He played it over and over and over again.  I thought I was going to kill myself, and I told him as much.  His response, “It really grows on you.”  And so it does.  I went home that night and instead of putting my head in the oven, I pulled up the video on Youtube and listened.  Over and over and over again.

It looks like Slide Guy likes Carly Rae Jepsen just as much as the rest of the world teenage America.

Slide Guy and Carly Rae

There’s nothing better for sliding than a soapy windshield!

I started working on this assignment in Photoshop, but I find it too overwhelming at the moment. I saw GIMP mentioned a few times, so I decided to download and use that.  I downloaded “Slide Guy” from the visual assignments page.  I downloaded the “Call Me Maybe” video from Youtube.  I then imported the video into VLC and found the scene I wanted.  I went through the scene frame by frame until I reached the one you see above.  To capture the still image, I used the “snapshot” option under “video.”  Once I had the two images, I opened them both as layers in GIMP.  It took me some time to familiarize myself with GIMP, but it was definitely manageable.  I still hope to master Photoshop…  or at least become competent in Photoshop… before the summer is over.

8 thoughts on “Slide Guy Meets Carly Rae Jepsen

  1. Are you kidding? This is your first effort in the GIMP? Amazing, it is done so well- good choice of images and placement, and we appreciate the details on your steps.

    She is sure waxing that car to make Timmmmy slide smooth….

  2. Mad props for going through the video frame by frame and then extracting that via VLC. I would have wimped out and just grabbed a still from a Google Image Search. I think I’d actually prefer Photoshop to do this assignment, and I’m curious where you had the trouble, although I could see “cutting” slide guy out might be a problem.

    • I knew which scene I wanted from the video, so I just jumped ahead to the right time and then went through a few frames to find one that suited. As for Photoshop, I’ve only used that once in my life, so the learning curve is steep. I feel bogged down by all of the features. I’m probably just psyching myself out though.

  3. Pingback: How To: Photoshop Magic Lasso | The Tech Savvy Educator

  4. I am making a tutorial for Photoshop this afternoon that should give you a running start on doing an animated MOvie Poster or Magazine. It is fun, and not nearly as hard as you might think.

  5. I’d say Slide Guy looks happier here than any place else I’ve seen him. Your clever work paid off.

    So, I’ve got to ask: Is the big difference in PhotoShop and GIMP the range of filters that PhotoShop has? For the money, isn’t GIMP a fine program 😉 Or does PhotoShop have a higher nerd rating?

Leave a Reply

