Challenge issued, challenge answered: a week of daily creates

Last week Cogdog issued a challenge that went exactly like this:

Starting Wednesday, July 10, I dare you to do the Daily Create for the next 7 days in a row.

To compete, what you should do is write a blog post at te end of the week that embeds all the media for your 7 days, and then write something that draws a connection or makes a story out of all 7.

Who doesn’t like a good challenge?  I was certainly up for it, and here are the results:

TDC185: Draw a tornado.  Ok.  Easy enough.  I drew a tornado.  It’s my tribute to three great tornado-related movies: The Wizard of OzTwister, and Tornado! starring Bruce Campbell.  This particular tornado is about the wreck havoc on a pretty cool trailer park, that reminds me of the stacked trailers in Ready Player One.

TDC186: Make a photo of an outdoor scene free of any human artifacts.  I borrowed a few Creative Commons images from Flickr and created a nice pastoral nature scene complete with a troll and a couple of unicorns.  Nothing is more removed from humans than trolls and unicorns.

TDC187: Make a video of what is playing on channel 106 on your cable (or make it up).  The public domain/Creative Commons footage at Archive.org is highly entertaining, especially the ephemeral films.  I was going to mash-up/remix/whatnot some public domain horror movies, but weeding and editing long movies was going to take a lot longer than 15-20 minutes.  I opted to use a drive-in PSA and a video about menstruation (!).  The audio from the radio broadcaster is from Night of the Living Dead.

TDC188: Make an annoying 30-second  pre-recorded telemarketing call.  I guess this is not really a telemarketing call.  It’s more like a commercial.  But that’s ok.  One night while visiting my in-laws, my husband and I were watching some late night TV.  We saw a commercial for the Fridge Locker, and were totally blown away by the bizareness of it.  We also saw Mega Python vs. Gatoroid starring Debbie Gibson and Tiffany. Here is my response to the Fridge Locker.  Can you imagine seeing one of those in the shared office fridge?

TDC189Describe a technology you can’t live without.  It went camping once.  It wasn’t fun.  It was cold and rainy and there was no place to use the bathroom except in the woods.  That’s really not fun.  Maybe something like a SheWee would make it tolerable.  I don’t know.  I’m probably not going to ever find out.  The technology I can’t live without is indoor plumbing.  Showers are awesome.  So are toilets.  If you’re not convinced, I highly recommend reading The Big Necessity: The Unmentionable World of Human Waste and Why It Matters and/or The Ghost Map.

TDC190Flip the decibels: Make a loud sound soft or a soft sound loud.  This Daily Create was a little challenging for me.  I need to work more with audio.  I was thinking of the different ways I was going to tie my daily creates into one story.  I decided to go back to the unicorn vs. troll idea.  I recorded the sound of a troll from Troll Hunter. I modified the clip in Audacity by changing the tempo.  I then found a clip of a horse on Youtube.  I put the two together and called it a day.

TDC191: Illustrate attraction in a photograph today.  Magnets!

Opposites attract

One thought on “Challenge issued, challenge answered: a week of daily creates

Leave a Reply

