And then the car just stopped

This is my car.

the family car

the family car

It’s a Toyota Echo, and I love her.  I bought this car almost 10 years ago.  She’s been paid for for almost that long.

I thought I lost her Wednesday after some odd smells and wonkiness that surely suggested a shot transmission.  Luckily my diagnosis was wrong.  The competent folks at the Village Exxon brought the Echo back to life for a mere $640.

One of my top 5 regrets in life is not taking auto mechanics my senior year of high school.  I had space in my schedule to fill.  I couldn’t fill it with a second study hall.  I was so close to enrolling in the auto mechanics class.  Instead I opted for keyboarding.  Taught by my mom.

I already knew how to type.  I already knew how to use word processing software.

Sometimes–usually when there’s vehicle maintenance or repair on the horizon–I think about why I chose not to take that auto mechanics class.

It was the fear.  What if I’m not good at it?

Same as it ever was, right?

So here’s my resolution: the next time I make excuses for sticking to the easy and familiar path, I’m going to call myself on it.  Ideally there will be some action too.

That’s it.  Go about your business.

Leave a Reply

